Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Old Garden Furniture

These two outdoor lawn furniture things belonged to my mother. She bought them for the rather impressive garden that she established behind her cottage when she moved to a retirement place in Charlottesville after my father died. I honestly don't remember what year that was, but I suspect it was sometime in the early 1990s. My father died at 73 in 1984 - my mother was 4 years younger than he was and she and her sister remained living together until a few years after her sister, my Aunt Kitty, had a stroke. My mother then reserved a place for herself in a cottage at Westminster Canterbury of the Blue Ridge, which had just been built, and moved Kitty into their nursing home. And then Kitty died and at about the same time my mother sold the house she and my father had lived in (with my Aunt Kitty - who came to live with them when I was 12 - but that's another story) - and moved to the cottage at WCBR. She immediately created an amazing garden - she was an indefatigable English gardener - and these two bench/chairs were out there in her garden. She had a stroke in 2003 and died in 2005 just a month shy of her 91st birthday. I now have the garden furniture, plus the two metal bird things that were also hers - old but new to her when we found them on one of our antique shop forays. The seats are completely covered with lichens and basically purely decorative because who wants to harm lichens by sitting on them? They now sit up on our odd little patio and face our odd little frog pond. You might not be able to tell clearly from this rather overdone charming antique effect, but there are all sorts of volunteer flowers coming up between the pavers. I - like my mother before me - am constitutionally incapable of pulling up pretty things no matter where they foolishly seed themselves.

Anyway - an offering of old - albeit not very old - for MonoMonday. They certainly look old - if that counts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.