This was a few weeks in the making...

...and I am NOT going to do another one. I finally finished it this morning.

For a start it is time consuming. There were the problems of keeping the mixed acrylic paints damp. And I like more instant results, not something that is long drawn out. I keep having these ideas to try out...

It was started a few weeks ago. It is from a Vermeer painting. Why this one?

PLEASE BE PATIENT WITH ME. LINK REFUSES TO LOAD....

TRYING YET AGAIN...

http://www.artinthepicture.com/artists/Jan_Vermeer/letter.jpeg

LINK SEEMS TO WORK. LET ME KNOW IF ANY PROBLEMS...

I cannot remember now why I chose this particular painting.

It is a colour tonal study. Or my understanding of a tonal study at least. My knowledge of art theory is zilch...

I made a grid of lines horizontally and vertically at random intervals, and did the same for the picture which I previously photocopied.

Then I chose the the main colour for that particular rectangle from the original picture, and transferred it to my picture of rectangles.

I just did a few rectangles at a time. It is hard to hold the brush with arthritis. I still have this 17 year old mind which says "Hey, you can still do all the stuff you used to." Then as I start, reality sets in...and says "Silly old doddering pensioner..."

[As an aside, I bought loom bands, loads and loads last year, because my grandchildren live a long way and abroad. I collected these loom patterns. Was going to make all kinds for them as a little surprise, and post them bit by bit. I couldn't even hold the crochet hook thingy, or even do those teeny tiny elastic bands on the loom...failure...so a few days ago I posted the loom bands to the grandkids...success!!!]

Ah, I think I remember now, so it was reducing the picture to form and not reality. Or am I making nonsense here?

I am sure some one on here will correct me....

This is my painting for today for my challenge to myself of a pic every day in 2017...

Something online started me off on this project, but don't ask me to remember what it was. I have liquidy scrambled eggs for a brain today. I am now retiring to the potting shed, with cat Popeye, now for the rest of today. It is 2pm.

For some strange reason I thought it was a bank holiday Monday today, but I have just discovered it isn't....at least not in Wales...

However, I am having a Bank Holiday Monday at home today, with feet up, swinging on my swing, the sun shining, a bit like an Indian summer, watching the butterflies and the bees, eating some nice stuff..oh flipping heck, I am rambling...

Normal service will be resumed tomorrow...maybe...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.