HMS Cheerful remembered

On our final day on Shetland, we walked around the peninsula of Helli Ness. It was quite hard at first; along the southern edge the path runs outside the fence and very close to the cliff edge.

At the tip there is a trig point, with a wreath for 44 officers and men lost when the destroyer HMS Cheerful sunk on 30th June 1917. It hit a mine, east of this  point. (My view is to the north - I didn't know the position of the sinking when I took it.) The wreath, Shetland

This is a remote spot, and I doubt many people have visited since the wreath was laid. It has suffered a bit in the wind, and I weighted down the flag and sign as best I could (see extra). I doubt many people have visited this remote spot since the wreath was laid. However it's good to know that the sailors are still remembered, 100 years later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.