a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Brassed Off

Mono Monday: Old

Our Mono Monday host for August, is TheAphid and this week he has come up with the really rather excellent challenge of "Old".  A wander about in the drizzle this lunchtime convinced me that I wasn't going to find anyone older than myself to make the subject of my photo.  


Bristol has plenty of history, so there was no shortage of things that I could photograph, but finding something that made a strong mono shot was a little more difficult, particularly given the rather monotonous grey blanket of cloud. In the end, I found myself wandering about Bristol's Cathedral where I spotted this very fine brass, which was catching the light from the stained glass windows in a very attractive way.  

Getting the light to reflect of the brass in the right spot required not a little gymnastic ability on my part.  If you were in the Cathedral today and you saw a chap in a suit hopping about and leaning at strange angles in front of this brass, now you know why!

Its not bad as a mono, but it was gorgeous in colour - but its still the best of my mono shots today and as such is this week's Mono Monday challenge entry :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.