Cleptoparasite

I think this is a black-horned nomad bee.  On almost the same flower as Friday's and about the same tiny size.

Its status of a cleptoparasite made me chuckle when I discovered what it meant, particularly with my eating this weekend.  Are all children cleptoparasites, I wonder?!

Kleptoparasitism or cleptoparasitism (literally, parasitism by theft) is a form of feeding in which one animal takes prey or other food from another that has caught, collected, or otherwise prepared the food, including stored food.

Little Dog and I had a wander up on to the edge of the moor and I followed that with a bike ride to test out my lungs again. I wasn't convinced I was on a roll but by Otley, all was well. I feel like my lungs have stretched back into shape. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.