An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Learning Curve...

Up at 7am and hit the ground running today.

After making a start on ordering puppy related goods last night, I have spent the bulk of the day reading up on owning, training, taking care of and keeping a Golden Retriever healthy.  I have also joined relevant FB groups such as Golden Retrievers GB, The Kennel Club, Hungry Hounds Pet Supplies and Canine Health - Dogs & Vaccinations.

As well as reading up on all the ordinary stuff re. training, walking, crating, I am trying to get my head around vaccinations (to vaccinate or not) raw eating and combining conventional veterinary vet practices with holistic vets, spaying (to spay or not) and lots more.  

In my own life, I believe that medication can cause as many problems as it solves and only take medication if it is unavoidable, this include antibiotics, so it goes against the grain to take a wholly conventional approach to our new puppy's health.  She has started on a raw diet and I am keen to continue with that.  I have heard of and read a lot about issues arising around vaccination and over-vaccination.  At the moment I am planning to let her have her first lot of puppy jabs but not boosters (well not without testing they are actually required.)  A local vet has been recommended so will be interested on his/her views on this.  We don't plan to kennel her at any point so lack of boosters shouldn't be an issue in the long term.

So much to think about, so much to learn.  She is six weeks old today, so just over a couple of weeks to get out heads round it all.

With all this going on, it was a quick phone snap of the dish washing brush then a faff in snapseed.  It looks a bit like my brain at the moment - exploding!  :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.