Mono Monday. : : Old

Pedro's dad probably isn't as old as I am, but Pedro has a son who is my grandson's age. That's him on the left using a chainsaw on the peña or barrel, while the young guy hoisted heavy chunks of agave into the truck with a pitchfork.

They all work incredibly hard but Pedro's dad always works the hardest. Pedro says he has told him he doesn't need to work at all, but his father insists not only on working, but on doing the hardest jobs....I wish I could get a picture of his snaggle tooth smile and the twinkle in his eye. The poor man developed a rash all over his chest and arms from the agave dust so the twinkle was a bit missing, although he was still smiling.. I dug up some Benadryl cream and a beer for him but didn't have any tablets. I wrote down the name for him but I don't know if he understood me. 

When I got home at 10:30 this morning, they had cut the stalk down and loaded it in pieces into the truck. Pedro's dad was standing in a cloud of bees sweeping up the remaining flowers. They tried to pull the stump out with the truck but for some reason that didn't work, so they started hacking off pieces with a chain saw. 

They didn't finish. They have to come back tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.