Colorful Triptych

This picture evolved rather than being taken. It's been a slow day. They guys must have scheduled only one day for taking out the agave because they didn't come back today. Blake and Rudy went home yesterday and OilMan slept his own bed last night.I went for a walk with a friend and took my camera along but we talked so much I never even thought about taking a picture.

I was wandering around the garden when I noticed the rudbeckias needed deadheading, so I cut a few extras and brought them into the house, putting them in a pitcher that belonged to mother (and perhaps even her mother). It is one of the few things I have from her side of the family and I've always liked the shape and the old fashioned pattern which somewhat mimics the rudbeckia.

I was wandering around the house looking for a place to put the pitcher of flowers when I thought about the triptych that was painted by my neighbor, and which I bought from her a couple of years ago because I fell in love with it. I set the flowers down on my fish table by David Marsh, which sits in the corner of the tv room because I don't really have a better place for it but which deserves better. Marsh is in Texas, and all his pieces are colorful and signed somewhere by everyone who worked in them. We used to have several of his pieces but now have only this table and a bookshelf in our bedroom.

Dana came by to look at the agave stump and the big rock which was revealed. (Two visitors today have said that the stump looks like a sculpture.) Another neighbor came by with some more peaches to replace the ones the dogs ate when we were out to dinner the other night. I have suddenly found myself with no time to look for another picture, so this is it....a lovely triptych by Ann Rosmarin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.