A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Half Full Solution

Blipping is new to me yet I can already see great value in it. I?ve had a secret goal of learning how to use my Canon 30D and thought I should probably take a class, where others can help me understand shutter speeds and aperture settings. Every time I try to read about such things I have trouble making the connection between what I?m trying to accomplish and how the settings relate. Besides, my camera has given me great photos using it in auto mode?but I know it can do so much more. I also know I can do so much more. I have a great love of photography ? like so many people I?ve met. I fully appreciate a great angle, interesting focus choice, and abstract shapes created by lighting and shadows. With photography there is no limit to achieving amazing works of art.

That said, here is today?s blip. I pulled up the electronic version of my camera?s manual and discovered a setting called A-DEP. I confess that I don?t know what that means, but I was able to capture what I think is a good shot looking through my water glass as it sits on my desk. The setting allowed me to manually focus the shot and I know the shutter speed was s-l-o-w because of how long it took for the c-l-i-c-k to complete. I?m learning and that is the gift that blipping has provided me with today.

I am pleased to see that by coincidence the shot includes the title of a couple of books. The best coincidence is on the left, called Solution 1. Do you see the irony?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.