Jacqui's World

By HappyJacqui

The Pendle Mace.

We mowed the lawn this morning then went for lunch at my sons.

Coming home I started sorting out a couple of drawers that are still filled with work stuff. When do you get rid of it when you retire? I have had it for the last 16 months.
I keep thinking grandchildren might need some of it for a school project or someone may need some civic information. I just don't know.

Anyway this is the Pendle Mace that Ted is looking at and I had to carry it on civic occasions. I was glad it was only small (1330g)and it was donated to Colne in 1927 by Honorary Freeman of the Borough Christiana Hartley. (Daughter of the founder of Hartley's jam)She had the silver mace made by George Jensen who was from Denmark and around it it has "We Long Endure". It also has a suspended ram and strawberries around the side even though Sir William Pickles Hartley's first jam that he made when he was 10 years old was rubarb.
Five years ago it was valued at, well I can't tell you that its a secret.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.