Jacqui's World

By HappyJacqui

Ted's Borrowed Mace!

I thought Ted would like to carry my mace today and he is carrying it correctly on his right shoulder.
I used to have it in my work's jacket. It is made of silver and was given to me as a thank-you present from a past Mayor Len Atkinson. They were a great couple the Akinson's and when they were Mayor and Mayoress I took them to London a couple of times, once to the Queens Garden Party and also to the Jubilee celebrations. Why they were invited to that I don't know as not many Mayors were there and he was sat behind Margaret Thatcher in Hyde Park. We went into the VIP tent afterwards and Len kept going round saying to famous people, " Im the Mayor of Pendle , this is my wife Joanne and this is my attendant Jacqui could she take a picture of us with you." So I took pictures of them with Tony Blair, the head of the Armed Services, Michael Heseltine and others, great fun.

Good memories but now we chose what we do with our time now I don't work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.