Ravi Shankar

Went to watch a sitar concert featuring Ravi Shankar and his daughter Anoushka Shankar. And I must say it was privilege. They played Ragas which are "melodic modes used in Indian Classical Music." The harmony between the classical instruments was absolutely incredible. The unison with which they played rising individually as well as together was to be seen to be believed. The communication between each of the instruments and indeed the musicians was masterful. The renditions were flawless and mesmerizing, drawing the listeners in as the music progressed.

While introducing the troupe, Ravi Shankar said in the end, "I forget who I am." And I think while witnessing something as spectacular as this we all for a moment forget who we are. This is something I will remember for a long time.

And of course, I have to thank Adda for this. He took a lot of trouble to get the passes for this. Not an easy task, given that the main sponsor were the tourism department of the state which is a goventment concern.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.