Spit - The Bug

I spent a while finishing my Shuttleworth Collection blip and catching up with comments and completely forgot to upload today's pic. Maybe it slipped my mind as I took hardly any pics and knew I'd nothing of note. The weather is still cold, dull and damp with a stiff breeze, far from ideal for bug hunting and photography.

My image is of a common froghopper. It caught my eye as it is bicoloured, the ones I see are usually speckled brown. Evidently it's a highly variable species. These insects can jump higher than a flea and have bulging eyes, hence the name. They are from the same family as cicadas.

Another name for them is spittle bugs. Their nymphs produce the cuckoo spit that we see in the spring around the time that the cuckoo returns from migration. This froth keeps the nymph hydrated and acts as protection from predators. It has an acrid taste.

Today's poem is Life's honouring-deeds we start and do not do - by Rabindranath Tagore. https://gaveller.wordpress.com/category/poems/

Sort of appropriate for me today. I agree with the comment under the text of the poem in my link. I'm not so sure an intention of doing something counts as much as actually doing it. I'm a 'started so I'll finish' type. :)  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.