Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A day at the dentist's

It was actually only 90 minutes in the chair, but it felt like hours.

I travelled to Sunderland for the next stage of the dental implant, wondering why I ever embarked on such a course of action. Mum came for the ride, but I think she really wanted to be sure I was OK to drive home. I'm not sure what she would have done if I wasn't.....


The details are at the bottom of my commentary if you are not squeamish.  Sympathy is not required, because I chose to have this done!

After it was all over, I said that I wanted to ask a favour. They were so surprised when I whipped out the camera and said I wanted to "photograph my torturers", that they all smiled. Blip in bag as they say! My speech was all slurred from the anaesthetic so I don't know what my request sounded like!

The drive home in wind and rain on a crowded Western bypass was grim, but we made it.  I'm taking an early night.

Don't read anymore if you are squeamish (no responsiblity is taken if it makes you a bit yucky either)






Bone was harvested from the lower jaw to mix with sterile pig bone to build up the gap made by the extraction. The implant was inserted with much drilling and screwing. For some reason, gum tissue had to be transplanted from the palate on the other side so there are stitches in three parts of my mouth. Oh joy. The ice pack they gave me did not go cold, but we had one in the freezer. I'll live.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.