A little Speckled Wood

Another productive day. Firstly a spot of hoovering - not my favourite occupation but, what with one thing an another, something that has not happened for a rather long time and the spiders are in danger of taking over. I even hoovered under my chest of drawers in the bedroom and was rewarded with a discovery - my favourite cardie that I thought I'd lost ages ago and sorely missed!!
Then a spot of work sorting out the next order of cards - mostly reprints so hopefully I've got everything right.
Then into the garden. My prince from yesterday was still basking in the mint - I left him his own undisturbed bit. More clearing beds, a bit of a dig over and a spot of manuring. The weather was warm enough to sit out and eat pears and cheese for lunch. I browsed through the sunday papers and at one point had this little Speckled Wood butterfly, two mating damselflies and a hoverfly poised on the paper. We were all reading the review of Edna O Brien's autobiography which has gone straight onto my wishlist. She was one of the great influential authors of my youth (Country Girls; Girls with Green Eyes) and considered quite shocking then. Aged 82, she still looks marvellous and her writing is undiminished.
Off to Anna Karenina tonight so will catch up tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.