Levis Bar

I don't spend all my time in pubs, honestly, but here's another one. This time in Ballydehob which has a fine array of hostelries. Levis is particularly interesting though for until recently it was run by two very old ladies, sisters. One died when she was in her late 90s and the other died last year aged 104.  This is an old style bar where you could buy your groceries and get a pint and a lot of chat at the same time. There was also an arrangement with a restaurant across the road whereby you were settled into Levis' first, had an aperitif or two, consulted the menu and were then summoned across the road when your meal was ready. The restaurant was booked for months ahead but is sadly now closed.

Some interesting things in the window though:
red and white Rebel county paraphernalia
a handwritten advert for singers' night
Bolt to the Beacon poster- a run for the energetic in Baltimore
a raffle
a poster for Orpheus at the Everyman Theatre in Cork (meant to be good)
and someone advertising home made cakes.

We're in the mizzle, I suspect everyone else is basking in sunshine.

Son#2 would tell me off about my verticals in this image, but I don't think anything is remotely vertical, horizontal or diagonal - that's my excuse anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.