In My Life...

By steeble

Catch me if you can...

As some of you know I got my camera for my birthday and its been a big part of my life every day since. Well for that same birthday my sister got me a flying lesson...... All I had to do was arrange the date and time, I kept putting this off because in honesty I've never been a fan of flying.

The time period was nearly due up so it eventually got booked and today was the day. I had control of the steering whilst on the ground which is all controlled using your feet.(left foot down to go left and right for right). The instructor took over for the pre-flight checks, then he took off. Once in the air I took back over. Its similar to a car steering wheel(left for left, right for right) only if you pull the steering control towards yourself the plane climbs and push away and it drops.

I flew the plane past Barnard Castle, Raby Castle and then on to Durham Castle and Cathedral. So If you were in Durham area about 1:30 and seen a little 2 seater plane circling the cathedral.... that was me. The instructor took over the controls while I snapped a couple of pictures, then passed them back to me.

Then I turned the plane around and headed back towards Durham/Teeside airport, when we got back near the airport the instructor took over the controls again to land. Landing was the worst bit as there was a bit of a side wind. That said it was done within seconds.

I was going to blip a picture of me next to the plane or a picture of me flying the plane but I couldn't not let you all see this. Durham Cathedral from the air. Brilliant sight.

Had a great day... I didn't expect it t be as relaxing as it was. May be a new hobby? ......far more expensive than my photography one though.

Hope you like....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.