Inquisitive Deer

Basil and I met Gill, Geoffrey and their grandson Kaycee at the Newton Linford end of Bradgate Park. The rain had finally stopped.

Greens were very green and the ground could be a quagmire underfoot. The River Lin was full and racing.

Normally when you enter the park you find deer standing around. Today they were all sheltering under trees or in the bracken. Then they began to emerge, like this one on the rocks.

Geoffrey was in his mobility scooter, Kaycee had his scooter, Gill and I were walking.

It wasn't long before it was all change. Geoffrey decided he wanted to walk, so I was able to use the mobility scooter all the way to the Deer Barn. Kaycee took Basil's lead and Gill rode on Kaycee's scooter. More deer appeared on each side of the track.

We indulged in hot chocolate at the Deer Barn and then retraced our steps. This time however, Kaycee commandeered his Grandad's mobility scooter almost until the car park and Gill had to take his scooter. I walked with Basil. Kaycee had to be reminded that his Grandad needed the scooter.

I feel that I should have to be very wary about adopting a mobility scooter. I felt stiff after riding in it and unwilling, at first, to walk. Not at all good for general levels of fitness. It was useful for getting me to the Deer Barn though, as I think I would have been stopping a lot on the way back had I not had that break.

I'm trying to cut down on what I eat and to choose low calorie options. I need to lose weight if I'm to be eligible for a knee replacement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.