But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

I Wandered Lonely . . . .

No sooner do I post two Blips in one day to try and catch up with myself than Fate takes a hand and it’s a case of forward two steps – and back three. I had been wondering why I wasn’t feeling too well for a few weeks then, on Monday it hit me like a well-aimed brick. The pain-killers I have been taking were causing an adverse reaction, not that this is the place to go into details but both Myself and the doctor should have known better. So, after two days of feeling very sorry for myself, I am now better (almost) and somewhat grateful.
 
As a child, I lived next door to a lady who suffered from arthritis; the only pain-killer available at the time was aspirin. There’s nothing wrong with the drug, but when a lady needs multiple joint replacements (not then available) and a whole range of different analgesics (not legal); aspirin just doesn’t cut the mustard. While I realise my memory is not reliable, it does suggest to me that she was swallowing around forty pills a day; it was certainly more than was good for her and I am quite sure that they killed her sooner rather than later. We Lost contact when she moved away, probably into a bungalow as I don’t think stair lifts were available either.
 

Onto a happier subject, there is a society that exists to appreciate clouds, I know nothing about them other than that a member appeared (if that’s the right word), a few years ago, on one of my favourite radio programmes called “The Museum of Curiosity” (not its original name). In it, various people offer items for exhibit in the imaginary museum and have to justify their presence there. A miner might offer a lump of coal, a scientist “The Theory of Evolution” or a sub-atomic particle while an awkward bugger like me would opt for the universe. One person presented a specific type of very large cloud, either for its scientific interest or for its aesthetic value. On this occasion, I’m offering this collection of clouds because they look like something offensive hunting down an elderly aircraft. I became aware that it was not a single cloud when, as I was watching it, it sailed across the sky splitting into half a dozen, or more, elements.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.