But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Magic Round-a-bout.

I had a trip into Musselburgh to deliver the car for a repair to some trivial damage,  someone reversed into me in a car park incident several months ago. Had it been my money, I would not have bothered unless the car failed its M.O.T. – which is rather unlikely bearing in mind some of the damage that has been allowed in the past.
 
A fellow bee keeper is writing an article on pollination for a local comic and has asked for some photographs to illustrate it and I thought that this wild flower meadow in the middle of one of the Honest Toon’s traffic islands would be useful. It may be that a picture so obviously taken in East Lothian won’t be appreciated in Peebles-shire so I have removed the sculpture from the version offered, to make it more acceptable.
 
It is well known in some circles that wild flower meadows are spectacularly colourful in their first year - but then, in each successive year, the variety of flowers decreases until there is a single dominant species left. Poppies, in particular, are noted for flowering for one year and then disappearing until either they are re-sown or the soil is disturbed; their presence here suggests that the seeding was done within the last year; in which case, I wonder why there are only three varieties of flower: poppies, cornflower and some variety of asteracia. I suspect that the cooncil have been a little mean in their choice of seed mix.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.