... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Egyptian Geese: synchronised spinning.

Well, today has been rather damp.

I visited Eagle Pond this afternoon in what became a torrential downpour (I got thoroughly soaked despite my large umbrella), and the geese & goslings were looking more than slightly soggy... It was quite unreasonably wet, and the goslings were cleaning like mad (they obviously prefer showers over their more usual baths).

This was a strange scene, because these 4 were all rotating on the spot: they'd all turn (when they stopped, they were usually all facing in the same direction) then think better of it and turn again. They only turned clockwise! Perhaps they were trying to minimise wind chill or being hit by directional rain? Who knows...

Speaking of strange behaviour (I'm not sure whether I mean my visiting the geese, or their rotational antics), 3 chaps were playing frisbee on the common in spite of the inclement weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.