... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Piccadilly Circus: Statue of ?

Well, this is a bit different for me. I'm not very fond of it, but hey ho...

I went into town to meet a friend for lunch, and came back via Piccadilly Circus. The Piccadilly Circus bit was an accident really: I don't like crowds much (...) but was looking for an HMV and remembered that there was one at the (near) end of Oxford Street, but then (en route) became sidetracked looking for blips down little alleys, before seeing the reflections of the bright adverts and following those to lead to this picture. Hum, I wanted to get the statue neatly composed over the bright, colourful signs, but Lilliwhites was in the way, so this is as close as I could get to the effect I wanted.

People (almost) always call this the Statue of Eros, when really it is (obviously) the statue of his twin brother Anteros. Duh. Anteros is the God of Requited Love (or mature love, or selfless love), while Eros is the God of Erotic Love (or frivolous love).
Anyway, here is Anteros in front of the bright, showy adverts of Piccadilly Circus: these are for Coca-cola, TDK, and McDonalds (clockwise from top). "Classy".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.