Stark Contrasts

Keep taking a photo of this shadow on the chapel (Nossa Senhora dos Remedios) that is used as a mortuary, so am blipping it to get it out of my system, more than anything - something about it appeals to me... it's on my way up to the land. Maybe it's the way it shows the stark contrasts of life here... I focus on the light, but the shadow is always there, troubling... 

Invited for lunch today by former owner of land in Café Moita, to eat two hares he'd prepared - absolutely delicious - marinated overnight in plenty of red wine, and served with potatoes, bowls of fresh-picked mint leaves, pepper sauce, cheese, olives and crusty Alentejano bread (of course), followed by sweet melon, and various liqueurs and firewater, "to aid digestion" - accompanied, as usual, by illuminating conversation, not all of which we understood.

When he invited us, I said I'd only go if his wife went - so she did - don't really have a problem with being the only woman in these situations, but more comfortable if I'm not... she certainly added to the joy of the meal, lovely woman.

Another interesting aside. It's not hunting season yet, so where did the hares come from??

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.