Trig Points

This is the Trig Point on top of Arnside Knott.
I think everyone will know that they were essential for surveying and accurate mapping. You could always see two others and therefore use triangulation to calculate distances.

Now with the advent of GPS they might perhaps be classified as ancient monuments. This one is surrounded by trees and shrubs so I don't think you can see any others from the location.
Of course my mind goes off into fantasy about archaeologists several thousand years into the future. They will probably give them some religious significance and claim we were a society which worshipped mountains. Well some of us do!

But then I discovered that there are several thousand people who are Trig Point Baggers. So when you have done your Wainwrights or Monroes here is a vast new hobby for you.

I have really enjoyed going to the website TrigpointingUK. It is full of fascinating information and i recommend it.
You download an App and then whenever you find a new one you record it and take a photo.
In the UK there are over 25 thousand to find. There are many different types as just 6,854 are pillars like the one in my picture. We are told that 10,887 are in good condition, 1515 are inaccessible and 18 are visible but unreachable.
There is even a book of walks which will take you to all 56 Trig Points on the Isle of Skye.

What a challenging hobby. I fear I have left it a bit late to start it although as this blip shows I have photographed my first.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.