CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

One of our sempervivum plants is flowering

This morning's bright sunshine didn't last long and the cloud cover had spread all over by lunchtime. I managed to get to the farm shop before it started to drizzle but when I got home early in the afternoon a brief interlude tempted me to go to the cabin in search of Flower Friday challenge blip.

I'd spotted that some of my sempervivum plants had started to flower, each with slightly different forms. I gather they are called 'Hens and Chickens' for some strange reason. I moved the plant in its pot closer to the cabin's large window to get as much light as possible as my macro lens is quite demanding.

There were lots of flowers on the stem to choose from but this was the only one which was facing the light in an advantageous way. I quite like the young buds too which have pleasingly different forms before the flowers unfurl.

Thanks to BikerBear for hosting today's 'Flower Friday11' challenge

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.