Heather's blooming and bees are happy

It was a dismal start to the day but when there was a bit of a break in the rain I went up to see - and smell - the heather again. Because it had been wet it wasn't as honey-smelling.

In the afternoon we went to Whitley Bay as Mr C was going to the Dads/Grandads/male carers BBQ at nursery. I don't know who was there for one of Thomas's friends as she has two mums.

While this was happening I got stuff ready for their night with us. They were very happy to be coming to stay - Thomas chattered all the way, and James gave announcements when he saw anything of interest- "digger!", "lorry" and the rest of the time he looked out the window.

As we drove along our road we looked for horses in the field. No horses, but a young deer. It didn't bother when we got the boys out of the car to watch it feeding. They didn't want to get back in, so I said they could just walk to our house, which actually meant run. I'm aghast to say James can almost outpace me - "Come ON Granny, faster"! I wish!

They are asleep - forecast rain tomorrow. What's new. But they have wellies and raincoats so we'll be into Cragside when it opens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.