Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A Two-fer for Flower Friday

And a big thanks to Anni for continuing to host  FlowerFriday!  This week's twist is "leaf" and although leaves don't feature prominently, the buddleia bush does have plenty of leaves that you can kinda, sorta see here.  Well, who am I kidding, it's really about the butterfly, isn't it?

This beautiful big girl is an Eastern Tiger Swallowtail, one of our largest butterfly species and a common sight in much of the eastern US in the summer months.  The second butterfly is a male of the same species, but he had a bit of wing missing.  However, I like getting two of them in the same shot, so this had to be my blip.  I'll put a shot in Extra just of her so you can see how really perfect she is.  

It would have been more in keeping with the challenge if I'd blipped this rather stunning Banded-netwing beetle especially since she was nicely perched on a leaf. And, of course, it's always very tempting at this time of year to blip yet another hummingbird, nose first in the lobelia.  

My friend brought over an enclosure of Monarch caterpillars for me to watch while she and her hubs are away this weekend.  And she also brought me fresh peaches, green beans, purple kale and cucumbers from their organic garden.  Guess what's for dinner tonight?  Yep, a feast of veggies!  While I was waiting for her to arrive, I was deadheading the buddleia and apparently I irritated a yellow-jacket wasp because the little bastard stung me right on the ankle.  Hurt like hell.  I'm happy to report that he won't be stinging anyone again.  Yep, after I knocked him off my ankle, I stomped on him.  And you want to know the truth?  It felt good!  I simiarly dispatched with a bald-faced hornet that was menacing the hummingbirds.  

All's well in the Monarch Nursery and I'm still finding eggs and tiny 1st and 2nd instar cats in my garden.  Five more came in today.  I honestly have no idea how many I have right now because I really can't keep track of where the tiny ones are - they are just so small and move around constantly.  When I get ready to replace the milkweed with fresh supplies, I have to be super careful that I don't accidently throw away a tiny cat.

Speaking of cats, Charlie (our ginger tabby) is getting on quite well with my SIL's bijon, Joy.  Phoebe finally ventured downstairs this morning, but when Joy came wandering by, Phoebe's eyes got huge and she took off like a shot up the stairs, fast and low.  Well, at least she's not trying to mooch kale (which she loves) as I make the kale salad for tonight's dinner.

Okay, I've blathered on long enough.  If you're still reading at this point, you deserve a medal.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.