Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Flying backwards...

The patio adjacent to my gardens is like a war zone at the moment with hummingbirds zooming everywhere, chasing just about anything that moves.  Even the titmice are giving them wide-berth.  This female was going round-for-round with another hummer; try as I might, I couldn't get both of them in the same frame, much less in focus.  So, you'll just have to use your imagination.  Trust me, she was in full fight mode!

Three other photos on Flickr, starting HERE - a hummer in a rare moment of repose, a very tattered hummingbird clearwing moth and a fuzzy little milkweed caterpillar.  And for a laugh, in my Predation series, Decked out in an orange jumpsuit, fleeing the scene of a crime

Went on a milkweed run this morning so all the cats are munching happily away on fresh greens.  Two more of mine pupated into chrysalids today, and another is doing his walkabout.  That will make 13 chrysalids in that container.  Meanwhile, I continue to find eggs everywhere on my milkweed.  And, I watched a worn female depositng eggs on all my little milkweed starters today.  It will all be coming in as I can't leave them out there - most of them are on milkweed starters that aren't even 4 inches tall yet - not nearly big enough to support a caterpillar.  Thank goodness I have a ready supply of fresh, uncontamiated milkweed from my friends' farm!

Phoebe crept downstairs last night when we were all sitting watching TV.  But as soon as Joy started to move around, Phoebe raced back upstairs.  Funny that she is so scared of Joy since she started her life with us when we had a much larger dog.  Charlie, on the other hand, is the picture of blase around Joy - he sniffs her nose and then puts his tail in the air and saunters away.  

Thanks for stopping by. 

xo
Debbi

PS:  My ankle where that blasted wasp stung me last night is now all red, swollen and warm and alternates between hurting and itching like crazy.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.