Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Caterpillar Known as M - Day 15

Back on July 29 I introduced you to the Caterpillar Known as M just after he/she had emerged from his egg and was getting rid of the shell.  Now, just two weeks later, M is a big, fat fifth instar monarch caterpillar.  In the next day or two, he'll stop eating and do his walkabout in preparation for pupating.  He has his own private enclosure, which has allowed me to document his growth daily, keeping a photographic record of each phase. 

I had fully intended to blip a hummie today, but I realized that my time to do a portrait shot of M was drawing to a close.  This image is a composite of 7 images that were focus-stacked in Photoshop.  I could have gone crazy and stacked 20 or more shots, each with a mm difference on the focal point, but I just didn't have the patience.  Plus, it's not that easy to get a caterpillar to sit still for a portrait.

Hubs is leaving soon to pick MIL up and bring her over for Sunday dinner with SIL and us...and her little dog.  This will be the first time MIL has seen Joy since leaving Alabama over six months ago, so I expect much excitement.

Thanks for all the love on yesterday's hummingbird.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.