Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Pretty in the pansies...

Difficult decision on what to blip today, but ultimately I am choosing this shot just because I like it.  The garden is still buzzing with a dozen or more hummingbirds so the action is face-paced and non-stop.  And the feeders are all being guarded with great zeal.  Fortunately for this young male ruby-throat, no one was paying attention to this little pot of pansies so he was able to grab a quick sip.  One additional shot of him in Extra.

My close-second choice for today's blip would be the final photo of the Caterpillar Known as M as a caterpillar.  He was in the J position this morning, having spun his little button of silk on the underside of a milkweed leaf in his enclosure.  Sometime later today, he'll pupate.  Once he's spent a few days "hardening", I will carefully move the chrysalis to a sturdier structure so that there will be no problems when it's time to emerge as a butterfly.  

For reasons I can't define, I woke up feeling out of sorts today - just a general feeling of turmoil and unrest.  Perhaps the crazy ride we've been on since my brother-in-law passed away last year; perhaps the horrid events in Charlottesville this weekend; perhaps nothing at all.  These moods always pass and I've no doubt I'll feel perfectly fine tomorrow.

Back later...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.