Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Sideways Looks

To Edinburgh today. Returned M and E to their parents. They went off to see Hairy McLairy (hope that's the way to spell it) at a Fringe show, then to the Museum and finally to visit E's godmother.

We had errands to do. First to Waverley Station for TM to collect some tickets, where I amused myself taking the above, a shot of the roof in the Booking Hall.

Next, a wander round town, taking in some of the street entertainment. I'm no good at photographing that sort of thing, I'm too slow. 

Into the National Gallery for a cup of tea and a sit down, followed by a quick look round. The first time I've seen 'The Monarch of the Glen' in the flesh, so to speak, though it used to feature largely on shortbread tins.  I love the way they've hung it next to a bust of Sir Walter Scott.  Both symbols of a romantic myth of Scottishness. Both gazing into the Celtic Twilight. The glazing and the Gallery lighting led to some interesting and unintended effects. (Extra)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.