Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Late Vanessids

A bright sunny weekend here in Kirkcaldy but a cool breeze.
I spotted a butterfly from my window so went out to investigate and found the largest number I had seen in the garden all summer. There were three peacocks, one small tortoiseshell and one red admiral all feeding on the two remaining flower spikes on my Buddleia (a large white was flitting overhead).

Unfortunately, one of the peacocks became a 'late Vanessid' in the other sense when my neighbour's cat suddenly leapt off the wall out of nowhere catching me and a butterfly by surprise. I hate what that cat does. He was responsible for the demise of a coaltit this morning. I feel like finding a ball-and-chain to restrict its agility.

Red Admiral, Vanessa atalanta.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.