I Looked Down With An "Oh Heck"..

Wolds Way Walk #5
I was hoping that 4 days hard walking around Amsterdam would see me being match fit for stage 5 of our Wolds Way Walk..but it seems like I was sadly mistaken!

It is starting to get very hilly as we were in the heart of the Wolds and I think the late afternoon start didn't help...but it did mean that we got to finish with an evening in the pub with a meal and a pint.

We walked from Millington to Thixendale, about 11 miles. I recognised some of the areas when I realised that I had been on sponsored horse rides and on one occasion had a rather hairy moment as Johnny and I were galloping along the valley floor when I realised I had no control so I decided to point him up the grass hill forming the valley thinking the steep incline would quickly slow him down...I got that wrong, when he eventually stopped about 3/4 way up...I looked down with an 'oh heck'...Johnny looked down with an 'oh heck'...my friend looked up with an 'oh heck' as we tried to work out how we were going to get down the extremely steep grass bank...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.