Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Bertha and the Heat-wave

Bertha mopped her brow as she staggered out of the relentless heat of the midday sun. She had spied a chair in front of a boutique and plopped herself down in it. "Whew!" she said to herself, slightly out loud, "I can't take much more of this".

After a minute or two, the shop-keeper came out and said: "Would you like a fan too?" Bertha wasn't sure if the woman was being facetious, so she said: "Yes please, if you're selling them!" They did and Bertha bought one!

The shopkeeper said: "I can't believe this! The back of my chair is covered in the same material as your dress! I made it out of a remnant." "So it is", said Bertha, "I bought the material here last year and made the summer dress I'm wearing."
The shopkeeper smiled, looking pleased! "Why don't I go and get us both a glass of iced water", she said. Bertha felt grateful and thought how nice it was that the heatwave had made her seek out a shady spot and now she had a fan, a glass of cooled water and a friendly shopkeeper with whom to chat.

It wasn't such a Silly Saturday after all, thought Bertha!

Thanks to admirer for hosting today's challenge!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.