A day in the life

By Shelling

Beatmastership

Sometimes I'm extra staff at the lovely old theatre of Kalmar. Today we hosted the swedish mastership of drumming, a for me interesting event since I quite like rhythm. I'm not too excited about the element of competition since I think it's impossible to value music and claim than one is better than another. The jury shares this opinion so they try ways of working around this by judging groove, technique and artistery. Each contestant (17) gets three minutes each to present themselves drumwise and five of them goes to the final where they get another three minutes to do their best.

The chosen one this year was Johan Glenson but the jury made it clear that choosing one is almost impossible. It's rare to see a drummer having the stage for themselves and it was exciting to hear and see each of the drummers develop their ideas.

Drumming is indeed as interesting to both see and to hear, in this case, also to experience since the sound was excellent and, pretty loud. Now, after eight hours of rhythmanship, I rest my ears.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.