The Dancing Girls: the Lighthouse Tale

It was a beautiful summer morning when the six Dancing Girls set out on their grand adventure. They had planned the trip for ages and ages, and the weather did not disappoint. The sun was shining brightly, the sky was blue, and the waters were calm on the tiny bay at Childhood's Gate.

The Dancing Girls were going on a sailing cruise to visit not just one, not just two, but THREE lighthouses! For they are lovers of lighthouses and they had been wanting to see some in the "for-real" for a very long time. As always, I was happy to help make their tiny dreams come true.

The girls climbed aboard their colorful ships early in the morning, in pairs. Later on, we discovered there were more little boats, and each girl got her own. But they admitted later that possibly it was more fun to go around the bay two by two.

They saw all kinds of things! There were fisher-frogs, fishing near the lighthouses. I am not sure what creatures may lurk beneath these waves, but I know that everyone was hopeful that a seafood feast might be enjoyed later on. Oh, and look, there are their four fast friends, the Crittergators, waving from the shore!

Of course, we did have a misadventure or two, but nothing serious. One Dancing Girl fell in the drink, Ophelia style, but we pulled her out and dried her off, and she was good as new. After all, she is the hardy kind of girl who will not melt when she gets wet. No, not at all!

There was much laughter and hilarity, and I have to admit that even I dipped my toes in the water. For I had (wisely, so it turns out) come barefoot to the gardens, just in case the water should tempt me too. When adventure calls, I must answer. What else can a girl do? :-)

Fortune favors the bold, or so they say. When you get the opportunity to have some fun, seize it. For this beautiful day is one you can never get back again. And so . . happy adventures, dear girls, as always.

Fair seas and following winds!

The soundtrack for this blip has to be about a lighthouse. And although this particular song has some sad bits to it, I love it, and so here it is: Nickel Creek, with The Lighthouse's Tale.

P.S. The idea for this blip came to me bright and early on this morning, as I lay in my bed trying to fall back to sleep. I was reflecting on my sister's and my own lighthouse misadventure from Monday. Things had not turned out as we had hoped, and so I seized the opportunity to retell the tale, and set things to rights, in my very own way.

Dear hearts, know this: your story is always YOURS to tell. Yes, you can choose a different ending, even if that wasn't the way things originally went. Here is one of my mottos in life and it has served me well: In spite of all that happens, or maybe because of it, write your own happy ending!

P.P.S. I was away for a few days so I've fallen behind. In order to catch up on Blip, I'll be posting two entries today. Be sure to check out the other one as well.  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.