Breakfast Skillet: Make Mine With Cheese, Please!

It's been a strange week, with things NOT happening that were supposed to happen. The phones haven't been working in our offices, and that's very strange; they went out Friday and have been mostly out ever since. (No, I don't own a cell phone; yes, I have felt trapped and helpless, being stuck in an office incommunicado for days in a row.)

On Monday morning, I was supposed to go into the office - no, actually, straight to the Nittany Lion Inn - for a beautiful, huge buffet breakfast with a team of Penn Staters and a big-deal, nationally famous (at least in my field) guest.

No, I'm not usually at the office on Mondays, as Monday is my day to work at home. But I was this week, since I was already showered and dressed and ready to roll when I opened my email shortly after 7 am on Monday to discover that our guest could not make it and our meeting (along with the beautiful, much-anticipated breakfast) was cancelled.

Also, my husband went to the Bookmobile on Monday (it stops at Way Fruit Farm, not far from our home, and he bicycles up) to retrieve the half-dozen books he had been looking forward to. Guess what: the Bookmobile never showed. My husband ended up driving to Bellefonte on Tuesday to pick up his books. (Yes, he's a serious book lover, and sad are the days when he is between books!)

So you're getting the picture. It has been a strange time. It also meant that since I went into the office on Monday (yes, I was dressed and ready, so I just . . . went, after saying a few not-too-ladylike words), I got to swap my work-at-home day to Wednesday instead. Around mid-morning, my husband and I had a huge brunch. One of the perks of a working at home, to be sure.

This was my own breakfast skillet; my husband had one of his own. Mine featured a truly marvelous mushroom and cheddar cheese omelet (or NOMelet, if you prefer to NOM!), a potato latke, and several strips of bacon.

Now, one of the things you have no doubt noticed about this photo is the prodigious amount of CHEESE on that omelet. Yes, I love cheese. It's one of the things that I count on in life. I love all kinds of cheese, and I especially enjoy it MELTED.

The phones may not work, the visitors you rearranged your schedule for may not show, and the books you looked forward to on the Bookmobile may not actually make their way to your town. But cheese is always there; it's never gonna let you down.

For this awesomely cheesy food shot, I wanted a cheesy 80s tune, and this one showed up on several "cheesy 80s songs" lists. It also fits the story above. Cheese . . . how I love cheese. The song: Rick Astley, Never Gonna Give You Up. (Yep, you've all just been Rick-Rolled!)  ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.