WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

The weekend starts here!

Erm. Yes, I know it's Sunday evening. But it's our weekend :) On a whim, we decided last week to take a few days off on the Costa Brava. When I checked, for some reason all the hotels in Begur seemed to be booked up. But I eventually found a great offer on Booking.com for a room at Mas Ses Vinyes. "Last one at this price!" it tempted me. So after a quick check of reviews on TripAdvisor, I booked us in for Sunday.

Then I woke up in the middle of the night and realised it was the same weekend as choir practice. Oops. But hey, it's only a couple of hours' drive, we can be there by 8 pm. So I did go to choir today, hurried home afterwards, and set off again straight away. S the expert navigator assured me there was no need for satnav, as while I was out he'd checked it all out on Google Streetview and knew exactly where to go.

8:3o pm saw us bumbling around Palafrugell in the dark feeling tired, fractious, and lost, as strangely enough the dark streets did not correspond to S's memory of Streetview, and the map was in the boot. Luckily I'd printed out the booking with the satnav coordinates on it, so having plugged those in, we did a brief tour of Palafrugell's industrial estates and finally reached the hotel.

Which was not at all what we expected, but more of that tomorrow. We dumped our bags in our room, had a quick freshen up, and headed to the bar for una copa de cava before dinner. ¡ Salut !

Edit/footnote: how amazing is this 35 mm lens in low light!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.