The Divide - 1

I compressed my usual Saturday activities into the morning as my wife and I were out for the afternoon performance of Sir Alan Ayckbourne’s new play.
 
I confess to never having been an ardent fan of Sir Alan’s and on the basis of the first part I’m not sure I’ve changed my opinion.
 
Great staging, excellent music, fine performances.  But I found myself thinking more about the concept behind the future world he had created and the male/female relationships and being less caught up in the storyline – despite the engaging acting – of the main characters.  The storyline of the relationships seemed a bit predictable and pedestrian – a bit of a cross between Footloose and Logan’s Run.
 
Still it did build well towards the end of part 1 and I am looking forward to tomorrow evening’s performance to see how it develops.  I’ll be interested to know if my assumptions are founded.  It just seems to take a long time to develop!
 
The blip is of the ceiling painted by John Byrne in 2013.
 

The evening was the athletics and making lemon curd!  Thought I saw one Persoid meteor before the Tattoo floodlights made it impossible to star gaze!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.