Book heaven

The book festival is back, along with its bookshop, which is always a treasure trove of interest. We knew it was back, as it rained heavily this morning, softening up the lawns of Charlotte Square to prepare them to become muddy as the weeks advance...

Sadly, the combination of that rain, plus my cold, which was running unabated, made for a slow start where we missed the option of the blipmeet in the Botanics. So little, apart from some shopping, was achieved before we got the bus up to Charlotte Square to see The Outrun - an interesting combination event, with part of the book being dramatised, plus a discussion with the author, the scriptwriter, the director and the two actors, ably moderated by David Greig. Great event. Unfortunately, I had a coughing fit in the middle, but with the help of a cough sweet plus some donated water I managed to ward it off.

I really enjoyed the book, which I read during my convalescence from my operation at the end of last year. I think some of the strands of the book about recovery and finding ways to take care of yourself particularly resonated with me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.