Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

Chest of Drawers Restoration.

     I have now stained the chest of drawers and purposely left a piece unstained to show the difference. The Colour of the stain is Walnut and have only applied one coat. I am undecided whether I will do a second coat, but will make my mind up when the first coat of stain is completely dry.
I probably won't stain it, as I want to show the grain through the stain and polish when I come to do that.

     The first extra is the top of the chest of drawers not quite finished but wanted to show you how I have applied it. Just the stain in a small receptacle with the foam applicator. Using one of these eliminates brush marks.

     The second extra is the top stained with a slightly wet patch of stain yet to dry out and you can see the colour more clearly now.

     When all the stain is dry, I shall use a very fine grit sand paper to knock off roughness. This is caused by the wet water based stain, as it dries the surface of the wood expands with the moisture and stays like that when it has dried. Hence having to sand it very lightly.

More to come on this later on.

Hope you have enjoyed your weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.