Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

Continuing the Restoration.

     I have now started applying the polish to the chest of drawers and it is going to take some time.
To begin with I sealed the stain in with sanding sealer and then gave it a very light sanding to smooth off the nibs (commonly known as De-nibbing)
     I applied the first coat of polish(Walnut coloured wax polish) with a cloth, but having done that I noticed the wood is 'soaking' up the polish like there's no tomorrow.
You will see by the shot above the shiny part is just the first coat.
In order to get a deeper shine I am applying the second coat with very fine wire wool. This actually cuts into the grain with the polish.
Between each coat of applied polish, I have to let it dry and that takes 20-30mins.
As I have said it will take time to do the polishing all over.
Since applying this coat, I have polished with a lint free rag and have since put another coat of polish on. So far 3 coats have been applied and I will apply one more to finish it off.
So lots more to do yet.

The extra shows the application of polish Second coat and shiny part (first coat)

I must say, I will be feeling fit when I have completed all the polishing!!!

I have when the carcass is finished, start on the drawers.

Hope you are all well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.