Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Juvenile

A bit better than my last Green Woodpecker blip I was fortunate to spot this juvenile and a parent out in the open while I was still in cover and was able to watch them pop up from the long grass every now and then over several minutes.

After yesterday's long day out in Lincoln I had a more relaxed day, but it was sunny so I strolled out onto Baildon Bank for a few hours this afternoon. There were a fair few butterflies about, with Gatekeeper most numerous along with Small White. I saw a few Small Copper, Speckled Wood and Large White, plus my first Small Heath for a couple of months. Still no sign of a big emergence of Small Tortoiseshell though, and the Meadow Browns and Skippers seem to have finished for now.

Along with the woodpeckers there was a Kestrel patrolling the bank and the gulls and martins had gathered in numbers to celebrate Flying Ant Day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.