Edinburgh - Portobello

I woke up from the sun shining through the roof window! 
And it was not even so late. So we got up and had a relaxed coffee (or two) with Fiona and Kev before we got on the road back to Edinburgh.
Seeing the sun and having one hour to spare I asked Neil to drive to Portobello, my favourite part of town when I still lived in Edinburgh.
(Jon - apologies - it was too spontaneous. I need your mobile number for the next time :) )
The weather was glorious and a lot of people were out - surely attracted of the rarely seen sunshine! We walked along the promenade and then walked back the whole length on the beach. I love walking barefoot on sand and thoroughly enjoyed it! The water was cold though, but there were a few tough Scots going for a swim too.
The light was wonderful and the sun was warm, although it was quite chilly when the sun disappeared behind a could. Sun doesn't mean summer temperatures yet. Not even in August.
We walked back to the car and drove towards Glasgow. Picked some eggs up on the way and decided to not go home but explore Glasgow a bit further. I wanted to try the Cafe Strange Brew in the Southside, but they were packed and people were queuing. Instead we walked along Pollockshaws Road, which is a bit Great Western Road from the South Side, and ended up at Tapa for a coffee.
When we returned the Cafe was not busy anymore, but we had our coffee in the meantime. We will try again another day.
We popped into a few shops and I found an amazing Highland Brie at the local Coop! 
On the way home we still felt making the best from the sunny day and thought we drop the car and walk to Queen Margaret Drive to catch up with Sara.
Neil brought some stuff back upstairs and I waited on the street talking with one of the neighbours.
Neil came down with bad news. Our downstairs neighbour had water coming into his bathroom! And we have not been there for over 24 hours. We still went to Sara's but Neil was not too relaxed.
Doris came in for a few minutes - she is in town and we will meet for dinner at Hanoi Bike Shop next Tuesday.
Back in the flat Neil was running around crazy to find the main water supplies. No water in our bathroom at all, so it must have somewhere collected below the floorboards! fun and games!!!
No water and no heating is no fun at all. Especially not at our current summer temperatures of 8-10 degrees in the night.
I spent some time on my pictures and Neil was doing something else. We finished the day on the couch with warm blankets watching Game of Thrones Season 6. 

My blip shows Portobello beach. 
I just love the layers and the colours with the light we had. I used to photograph a lot here - at all weather conditions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.