Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Sunday 13th August 2017

We had an early start to get to the Broomfield Hospital in Chelmsford for the surgery on Mum's face to remove a squamous cell carcinoma. After a bit of a wait (even on a Sunday morning!), the plastic surgeon came in for a chat and then Mum was gowned up and taken into theatre. The operation lasted about 50 minutes, and quite a large amount was taken out meaning a fairly long scar. Mum was amazing, she didn't make any fuss at all and just got on with it. We even had our usual roast lunch, though we had to change the booking to 2 o'clock and were starving by the time we got there. We're to go back to the Broomfield next week for the stitches to come out and then a checkup in two months' time to see if the whole root was successfully removed.

While Mum rested, I spoke to my sister on the phone and got a few bits and pieces done.

I watched the World Athletics on TV again in the evening, which I did have the opportunity to go to, but in view of Mum's hospital appointment it's just as well I didn't buy the ticket. It's very hard to plan anything at the moment. I've had to cancel my boiler service next Monday for Mum's next hospital appointment, and British Gas couldn't offer me another one until mid-October! The countless times they have let me down over the past few years, coupled with the £381 premium they wanted to charge me for another twelve months means I won't be renewing with them in September and am now looking for another option to get my boiler and central heating covered. I spent 15 minutes in a queue to speak to British Gas today, which is sadly all too typical, but at least they are refunding me £60 because they are unable to supply a service engineer before my contract with them expires in September.

The Small White butterfly in my picture was clearly making the most of the fine weather, and once it had settled on the buddleia leaf it stayed there for hours in the sunshine. I don't know what other people have noticed, but on the whole I haven't seen that many butterflies about this summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.