Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Where did this spring from?

I suppose I've not been in Glasgow as often as in the past, or not been in this part anyway, but this rather splendid new(ish) building fairly struck me as we went looking for somewhere different to have lunch today. Actually, the first thing I noticed was that the Duke of Wellington's horse had a traffic-cone hat as well as its rider - I love this persistent tradition - and then the wonderful reflections in the curved glass. It was only after that that I took in the building as a whole.

Some minutes later we clocked that there was an Argentine restaurant in its ground floor, and that's where we ate ...

Actually, it strikes me that there's an awful lot of Glasgow in this photo: the Gallery of Modern Art with its free WiFi and the cafe, the hole in the road with the barriers that started to topple in the wind, Glasgow humour and disrespect for authority as represented by the Duke's hat, the rain, the wee lassies in the pink waterproofs, the signs for pedestrians who will go their own way regardless ...

It's all there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.