Oregano - much loved by all

We spent the day in the garden today so that's where the blip has to come from.  I cut more grass, tied up the blackcurrant bushes, strimmed the area around our chestnut tree and replanted some grass Jan dug out of her flowerbed, filling a few holes caused by the snowplough!  As you can see from these activities I am now feeling a whole lot better after my health issues!
This picture shows a small part of one of the several large stands of oregano we have in our garden. It grows well enough to supress any weeds, spreads slowly, looks beautiful, and is useful for cooking. On top of that it is much loved by bees, butterflies, moths, and  even by beetles -  useful and beautiful!
Today I stood half in one of the stands and just watched and listened. As I "tuned in" I saw more and more bees and heard the varying but continuous buzz of these workers. It's especially good to see and hear them because it has been a tough year for bees, and they have mostly been absent from the garden.
I guess honey is going to be expensive this year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.