A Spectacular Something...

Another good day of activity after a slowish start. Drove to town and bought the wood I need for the barge boards on the ends of the new roof. When I got back I cleared away the leftover roof sheets, and the debris from replacing the roof, so now we can park as usual. Then I cut the rest of the grass and did a little weeding.  I was busy pulling up the flowering rosebay willowherb when I came across this impressive creature.
After searching Internet for a while I tentatively reckon it's the caterpillar of the elephant hawkmoth (Deilephila elpenor).
We've seen this moth twice, feeding from our honeysuckle, and the caterpillar apparently likes rosebay willowherb. The only problem is we are slightly north of it's theoretical range but even if this summer has been cool, global warming is changing our local climate.
This patch of rosebay willowherb got to stay where it is!
By the way, if anyone can confirm my tentative ID, alternatively suggest something else, I'd be very happy to learn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.