Dales Way

An early start after waking at 2.10 am and not getting back to sleep. Ailie picked Chris and me up at 7.30 when we set off for our 2 day adventure. Chris and I had been looking at doing the Dales Way in stages for years but the logistical reasons never attempted. This time another friend Margaret would join us and with 2 cars we thought we'd make a start on the linear route. We met her at Barden Bridge at 10.30am where she left her car, then the four of us drove to Ilkley where we parked up and set off at 11am. It was about 11 miles following the pretty River Wharfe in - surprise, surprise - sunshine. We passed some beautiful spots, including Bolton Abbey, where hundreds of cars were parked and many families from the city conurbations of Leeds and Bradford were enjoying the fun of the river. We continued on to a Quaker meeting house established in the 17th century, then the Strid, a channel where the river churns through a narrow chasm. Ailie told us how her father had once jumped across it - now there are warning signs not to try it. Eventually we reached Barden Bridge and Margaret's car. By then my foot was excruciating. It had been 11 miles of flat walking and my arthritic toe was not happy. We drove back to Ilkley to get the other car. We spent the night in a hotel in Grassington- a lovely dinner and an early bed for me. I hope I can hobble the next 8 miles tomorrow!

I have lots of photos but I loved the calm reflections just above the Strid. It was interesting how the river remained so slow and peaceful in one place then churned wildly through the limestone in others.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.