Feast of the Assumption

You all knew that's what it is didn't you! Here's our local Lady's Well looking wonderful, bedecked with hydrangeas everywhere. The old Mass Rock is sporting a crisp linen tablecloth, the paths have been cleared and there will be a Mass here tonight. I was lucky enough to meet the Keeper of the Well and we had a good old chat. He was relieved the area wasn't too soggy and although he liked to keep it tidy he didn't like it too neat - I so agree. 
As I went down to the well man elderly an was coming up, clutching his bottle of water. He told me his mother had always come here and he came very year himself on this date. He could remember when there would be crowds in the field. I wondered if he knew about the blessed eel that was said to reside within. He didn't. We both agreed it was a very special site. (Remember this place Gitama and Rainie??)

I'm off piste again and back to the delights of Doneraile in North Cork, this time not only taking Himself but two friends as well. The forecast was diabolical for tomorrow but when I last looked it had improved -slightly!  Catch up at the weekend. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.